Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola Bags Best Governor Award On Rural, Youth Development

Aregbesola-RaufThe State of Osun has again been rated as the best state in Rural, Urban Development and Youths, Sports’ Development in Nigeria.

The state on Wednesday night bagged two separate awards during the Business Day 2013 States Competitiveness and Good Governance awards held at Federal Palace Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos.

The state governor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola bagged: “The Best Governor Award on Urban and Rural Infrastructural Development and secondly as the Best Governor on Youth and Sports Development.
On the rural and urban development award, Osun beats other nine states nominated for the award, which included Akwa-Ibom, Edo, Gombe, Imo Kano, Lagos, Ogun, Oyo and Rivers states.

Aregbesola also beat other five state governors, which include Delta, Cross River, Rivers and Lagos States as the best governor on youth and sport development.

The awards are in 13 categories, comprising Award for Excellence in Governance, Transparency in Governance, Best Governor in Education Development, Best Governor in Healthcare Development, Best Governor in Agriculture among others.

The Deputy Governor, State of Osun, Otunba (Mrs) Grace Laoye-Tomori, while receiving the first award on behalf of the governor, attributed the winning of the awards to the proactiveness of the governor.
Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Moshood Adeoti, received the second award on behalf of the state governor.

Aregbesola and other members of the state executive council were present at the award night.

Rivers State Governor Rotimi Amaechi and Chairman, Nigeria Governors Forum, bagged the award of the best governor on educational development, while Abia State Governor Theodji Orji also got two separate awards on healthcare and security.

Orji was represented by his deputy, Sir Emeka Anamadi, at the event.

In his remarks, the publisher of the newspaper, Frank Ayigbogun, said the selection of the award was based on the research by the intelligent reports, tour of the states and the entries submitted by the states.
He said the award was organised to celebrate the hard working governors, whose efforts are contributing to the national development.

State of Osun executive council members at the ceremony included the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola, Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr Sunday Akere, Commissioner for Health, Dr (Mrs) Temitope Ilori, Commissioner for Finance, Dr Wale Bolorunduro, Special Adviser to the Governor on Environment and Sanitation, Mr Bola Ilori among others.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s